Sandbox Challenge #15: Create a Thesaurus of the Senses

How many words or phrases can you come up with to describe the color of the sky? How about faded denim? Or pumpkin, at sunset? Iron, before a storm?

For this challenge, see how many words or phrases you can produce for each of these:

  • the color of the sky
  • the taste of sugar
  • the smell of rain
  • the feel of air
  • the sound of laughter
  • the shape of eyes

This is a great exercise when you don’t have much time. And if you keep thinking up words to describe the sight, sound, taste, feel and smell of various items, you can compile your own thesaurus of the senses—a wonderful reference when you need interesting words for your fiction, essays, poems or other projects.

As always, I’d love it if you share some of your sensory words in the comments below!

Copyright © Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

11 Responses to “Sandbox Challenge #15: Create a Thesaurus of the Senses”


  1. 1 Kristin June 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Love this prompt!

    I always find it inspiring to try and describe an “old” thing in a new way. It helps us see things freshly and from a different perspective.

    I discovered that trying to describe the smell of rain is impossible to do without comparing it to something else. Almost all of my sensory descriptions call up memories – I end up describing situations that remind me of the smell of rain.

    Very interesting! It’s like a temporary experience of Synethsesia.

    • 2 stranglingmymuse June 23, 2010 at 12:13 pm

      Hi Kristin, thanks for your comment, and I’m glad you like the exercise. I think you’ve also just created another version, which would be to compile a Thesaurus of Memories by coming up with memories related to the things I’ve listed above or to other sensory items.

      Thanks — you’re always inspiring!

      ~Sandy

  2. 3 Michelle Hedgecock July 1, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Hello Sandy! I really like this one! I’ve featured it in my blog(Nature Time exercise) with a link back to you and also mentioned your new book title (oooh! Is this available now?)! Hope that’s okay? I just love the exercise and I encouraged my readers to do this challenge, particularly in keeping with my “Nature Time” theme, I also encouraged them to collect these descriptions for nature-related items/environment!

    All the best you creative bonita!!!!

    • 4 stranglingmymuse July 2, 2010 at 10:11 am

      Yes, that’s okay, Michelle, and thanks for the link. I’m glad you like the exercise! I don’t have a book out, unfortunately. By the way, I like your flattering nickname for me! 😉

      ~Sandy


  1. 1 Sandbox Challenge #16: Create a Thesaurus of Memories « Strangling My Muse Trackback on June 29, 2010 at 1:14 pm
  2. 2 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm
  3. 3 Keep Your Writing Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm
  4. 4 Some Fuel for Your Creativity Tank | Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 3, 2013 at 6:04 am
  5. 5 Keep Your Writing Flowing | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 21, 2013 at 6:03 am

Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

