Sandbox Challenge #1: A Camel is a Walking Sand Dune

I’ve been engaged in several rounds of  a grueling match with the Human Head Pounder, the Vicious Throat Scratcher, the Phlegmy Cough Monster and a few of their other unpleasant pals. Now that I’ve gotten them halfway back into their caves, I’ve started thinking about how to stay creative when I’m sick. When deadlines start moaning because it looks like I may not meet them. When unpaid bills and undone chores begin growing horns and making increasingly scary noises. When the words in my brain stick together like swollen, overcooked pasta.

Then I remembered that a camel is a walking sand dune.

camel shadow

It’s a metaphor exercise I developed for myself during a period of intense busy-ness that had me nearly crying with my inability to find time for creativity. In order to calm myself down, I decided I could take FIVE MINUTES before bed every night for creativity.

Here’s what I did: I carried a small notebook with me, and during the day, I would jot down a few items, like “music blasting from a passing car,” “ocean waves,” “a black cat,” “a waterfall.”

Then, in those five minutes before bed, I would create metaphors for some of the things I’d written:

Music blasting from a passing car is a 30-second parade.

Waves are arpeggios on the ocean.black cat in garden

A black cat is a soft shadow.

A waterfall is long hair falling down a woman’s back.

I find this a wonderful exercise, because it sparks my creative imagination even when I have only a couple of tired minutes. And some of the metaphors I’ve created in these stolen moments have found their way into my stories and essays. I still keep a small notebook with starter items always ready to be turned into metaphors.

I’m going to begin issuing small writing challenges here. These will be geared toward the concept of this blog—that creativity can take place in tiny found moments—so none of them should take very long.

For this first challenge, write a metaphor/metaphors like the ones I’ve discussed here.  Post your answers in the Tiny Packages section of the Reader’s Sandbox.  I’ve left some starter items there, or you can come up with your own.

Copyright @ Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

19 Responses to “Sandbox Challenge #1: A Camel is a Walking Sand Dune”


  1. 1 Susan @ 2KoP August 15, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    I should take this challenge since my metaphors are … just bad. Hmm, I’ll challenge myself to create a metaphor for my bad metaphors. I’ll get back to you.

  2. 3 Jenine July 2, 2010 at 7:53 am

    I hope I put the first post in the right place (I did the six word story for the penguin picture, “Tiny Packages” I wrote “Every body here looks like ME!”
    Okay, now I am going to try the metaphor exercise. Great idea, by the way!

    • 4 stranglingmymuse July 2, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Yes, you put your story in the right place, Jenine — but I’m not very hardcore about where things go, anyway. Creativity is messy, and I don’t mind if this blog is a little messy, too!

      I’m glad you like the metaphor idea. I’d love to see what you come up with, if you feel like sharing.

      Good luck with your writing!

      ~Sandy

  3. 5 Jenine July 2, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Okay here’s my attempt at the metaphors.
    NOT sure if I did this right. Keep in mind it’s my first try….at least it got me thinking…got me writing. This is a great thing. Thank you!

    Baby pictures of my sons
    American flag blowing in the breeze
    A cold pitcher of lemonade
    A circling seagull

    Baby pictures of my sons: Time travel trips back to innocence
    American flag blowing in the breeze: Mother holding onto her soldier child in an eternal embrace.
    Cold pitcher of lemonade: Jumping into a churning frothy wave at the beach
    Circling seagulls: Homeless people searching for food

    • 6 stranglingmymuse July 5, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      Jenine, I love these! You’ve created some powerful images here. Thanks so much for sharing them. I’m glad you like the metaphor exercise. Personally, I find coming up with metaphors to be fun, creatively fulfilling and emotionally satisfying. I can tell you feel the same way. Keep at it, and good luck with your writing!

      ~Sandy


  1. 1 Sandbox Challenge #4: Transform Your Creative Blocks Into Characters « Strangling My Muse Trackback on September 10, 2009 at 1:58 am
  2. 2 Sandbox Challenge #4: Transform Your Creative Blocks Into Characters | Blog The KING! Trackback on September 11, 2009 at 11:39 am
  3. 3 Perfectionism: A Great Muse-Strangler, Part 3 « Strangling My Muse Trackback on October 4, 2009 at 12:52 am
  4. 4 Keep Your Writing Mojo Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 6:13 am
  5. 5 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm
  6. 6 Keep Your Writing Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 22, 2011 at 9:37 pm
  7. 7 Perfectionism: A Great Muse-Strangler « Strangling My Muse Trackback on January 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm
  8. 8 Master the Metaphor « E.L. Taylor III author blog Trackback on March 15, 2012 at 2:59 pm
  9. 9 Armed and Dangerous « Strangling My Muse Trackback on June 3, 2012 at 6:08 am
  10. 10 Perfectionism: A Great Muse-Strangler, Part 3 | Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 22, 2013 at 6:05 am
  11. 11 Some Fuel for Your Creativity Tank | Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 3, 2013 at 6:04 am
  12. 12 Keep Your Writing Flowing | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 21, 2013 at 6:03 am
  13. 13 buy here pay here birmingham al Trackback on October 5, 2020 at 12:20 am

Leave a comment




Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape