Write Through Your Pain

Life is always happening. Pain and pleasure and heartbreak and happiness fluctuate for all of us in a never-ending cycle. Don’t allow the difficult times to take away your creative spark. Keeping your muse in your life during periods of emotional and physical pain helps you stay grounded and brings a positive note into a dark time.

I’ve been having a rough month. It started with a visit to my father, who has early-onset dementia that has now progressed to the latter stages. I wanted to ensure I’d see him at least once more before he forgets who I am.

My month has continued with a benign cyst on my head that’s become infected and excruciatingly painful. After toughing it out for a week, I’ve finally accepted the obvious truth that it won’t magically disappear and I’m having minor surgery to have it removed later today.

I’ll never regret the visit to my father, but, of course, it’s painful to see my once-brilliant scientist dad struggling to make mental connections and speaking nonsensically. The trip also brought up emotional pain over the difficult relationship I had with him, now that he no longer exists as that person.

My physical pain seems easier to endure, except for the fact that it makes thinking, working, writing, creating—and even washing my hair—much more difficult. This may become worse before it gets better, after my scalp meets a scalpel this afternoon (ouch!).

But, though intense for me now, these events don’t come close to being the worst physical or emotional pain I’ve felt. We all endure pain in many forms throughout our lives. And, as I experience this rough patch, I find myself remembering yet again the importance of remaining creative through the bad times.

Because if I let go of one of the things that gives me the most pleasure in my life—the creativity that makes me who I am—then I make a bad period even worse.

So I’m offering some ideas for staying creative through painful periods in your life:

Accept the pain. Pain is part of life. We all experience both physical and emotional pain. Not accepting this leads to more suffering because your angst about being in pain adds an additional layer of emotional pain to what you’re already experiencing. And the energy you use being upset, angry, discouraged, etc., about your pain could be used instead for healing and creativity.

Dial down your goals. During a difficult period, you may not be able to spend the amount of time or energy on creative pursuits that you normally do, or that you feel you should. This is okay. Try to write for just 15 minutes. Or even 5 minutes. Anything you do will give your muse some creative juice.

But don’t abandon your creative life. If you put off creativity every time life gets hard, you will only live half a creative life. Creativity adds a positive note to your days when things are tough. Don’t let it be a casualty of your pain.

Show yourself compassion. Don’t add to your suffering by beating yourself up for not sticking to your creative goals. Forget about your creative performance for the last day/week/month/year. Today is all that matters. Just perform a small creative act today.

Write about your pain. Writing about your emotional or physical pain can help with healing or can just lead to some fantastic writing when you dig deep into your suffering and allow it to exist on the page. Try writing a journal entry, an essay, a fictional piece or a poem about your experience.

Don’t write about your pain. Sometimes writing about something completely unrelated to your life is the best way to let go of your pain and embrace your creativity. Try writing a fantasy/sci-fi story or writing about characters whose lives engage you.

Do something  completely different. If writing is your primary creative outlet, try making something from clay, gardening, knitting, singing…whatever inspires you. Sometimes life difficulties lead us down new paths, either for the moment or for the long haul.


STOP STRANGLING YOUR MUSE!
I’ll help you slay your Perfectionism Dragon,
Herd your Inner Critics into a soundproof room,
Send your Procrastination Monster whimpering back to his cave,
And defuse all your creative blocks.

To schedule a free 30-minute telephone creativity coaching session with me, or for more information, click here.

76 Responses to “Write Through Your Pain”


  1. 1 Missy May 25, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I’m disabled by frequent debilitating migraines. My journal has a recurring theme, “I’m sick of hurting.” It does make me feel a bit better to release the frustrations via my journal but I find it difficult to be creative when in pain. I’ll use your suggestions and hope things will turn around for me while having bad days.

  2. 2 K a b l o o e y May 26, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Oh my goodness — I’m so sorry to hear about all this. And I’m sure having a trying relationship with your father in the past makes it even more difficult, if that’s possible. From the (too many) friends of mine who have lost parents
    this way, I know how emotionally hard this journey is. And being in physical pain yourself has to compound things, so I’m glad you’re having the cyst dealt with. Your writing advice is marvelous, esp. the warning to be kind to yourself and lessen expectations. And it’s pretty amazing that you can still turn your gaze outward and try to help the rest of us as you go through this. thanks, Sandy

  3. 3 Heather Conroy May 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Great advice for the ups and downs of life. That there will aleays be. Peace to you Sandy.

  4. 4 Ami Mattison May 27, 2010 at 5:35 am

    Thanks for the great advice, Sandy. I so agree that we need to maintain our creative life in times of pain. For me, if I can’t write, then I also do some other creative activity, like sketch, color, or play the guitar. Good luck with your surgery, and sending you positive vibes!

  5. 5 stranglingmymuse May 27, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Missy, I have chronic back pain stemming from a car accident years ago, so I know how difficult it is to try to maintain your creativity with ongoing pain. I hope you find my tips helpful!

    Kablooey, Thanks so much for your caring support! As for me turning my gaze outward and trying to help others with this blog post, I’m merely following my own advice. After waking in pain for yet another morning and childishly pouting to myself that I just didn’t FEEL like writing anything or posting anything on this blog, and that, really, WHY SHOULD I, ANYWAY, when my head was hurting so much, I decided to quit my whining and turn my pain around. This blog post is the result, dashed off before I went to get my head cut open (whine…) Anyway, writing it made me feel better, so I helped myself too.

    Heather, I’m glad you like the advice, and thanks for your support–and for your peaceful wishes!

    Ami, Thanks for the positive vibes! I’m feeling much better now. It sounds like you have lots of wonderful creative outlets. Good for you!

    ~Sandy

  6. 6 Sage May 29, 2010 at 4:52 am

    Pain … I understand emotional and physical pain all too well. I ride the wave a lot and find creating theraputic for me. I write better when I am hurting.

    I hope your head is ok 🙂

    • 7 stranglingmymuse May 31, 2010 at 10:02 am

      Thanks, Sage, my head is feeling much better now! I’m glad you find writing and creating therapeutic–it’s a wonderful way to help heal your pain.

      ~Sandy

  7. 8 SamuraiMarine June 1, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Great piece… Seriously.

    I suffer from depression, but I am one of those that is able to fight it off without meds. Mostly because I refuse to medicate, having seen what they can do to people, and that includes the positive and negative effects.

    I live by the Buddhist mantra that Life is Suffering. We see it, hear it and experience it every day in some way or another. But it is HOW we respond to it that makes us who and what we are. Strengthening us some days and weakening us others. It is just part of life.

    I have chosen to use my writing as an extension of my emotions. When I am sad, hurt, happy, excited, depressed or just blue… I write. Even if no one will ever read it, I write and save the work. Later, I will read it and many times find some little piece of enlightenment there. Something that I missed before. Through this, I have almost come to believe that we have these periods of emotional shift for a reason.

    It is nature’s way of hiding clues to life in our emotional fabric, giving us a reason to fight through the bad times and enjoy the good times… and embracing all of them.

    Thank you for a great article… I found you through StumbleUpon, but have added you to my list and plan on linking you to my Blog.

    • 9 stranglingmymuse June 2, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment. Though I can’t speak to your situation or to those who choose or don’t choose medication for depression, I agree with you in general that we have emotional shifts for a reason. Like you, I write for therapeutic purposes. I now have 30 years of journals, and when I look back on my writing, I often find moments of enlightenment. I can also see how the painful times in my life have helped me grow as a person. I honestly believe that if there is no pain and there are no bad times, growth would be near impossible. I consider myself fortunate to have been dealt a lot of difficult cards in my life — seriously! Because it’s made me who I am.

      Thanks again for sharing here, and thanks for linking to my blog!

      ~Sandy

  8. 10 Michelle Hedgecock June 4, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Wonderful post Sandy! I hope your physical pain is going away, that you’re feeling better and of course, those emotional pains as well…although I know those tend to stick around, don’t they?! You have reminded me that during my most difficult struggles I wrote like a banshee, alot of poetry and journaling–even a song! I was able to write things in a way I’d never written before, it flowed out of me in an intense furry, and came from such a raw place.

    I rarely, if ever write poetry and looking back on the dozens of poems I wrote during those times, I read them now and think, “Wow! Who’s THAT girl?! Where did all this come from?” It’s so fiery and angry, and real and honest! LOL It’s so different than the writing I generally do now as far as the anger (I’m still honest and real LOL–articles, non-fiction, blog/book type writing), but I have to say, that is what I love about reading those old poems. They’re like knarly battle scars that scream “F* you–I survived!” 😉

    Like you and others commenting here, I found (find) it extremely therapeutic. I also treasure a watercolor I did during one of those times (painting in the rain–which I thought was perfectly, pathetically, comically symbolic), anyway I treasure it because it reminds of how far I’ve come, how much I’ve grown, and how that particular devastation taught me more than I was able to digest at the time, it guided me to accepting it as more of a blessing.

    You’re so right, our pain and happiness documented in our journals or in other ways–these are priceless creative, therapeutic releases to be encouraged and embraced!

    • 11 stranglingmymuse June 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm

      Thanks so much for sharing your experience, Michelle. I love the image of painting a watercolor in the rain – what a beautiful metaphor for dealing with your pain in a creative way, combining the devastation with an artistic act of creation amid the solace of nature.

      I’m on vacation and only have a minute to respond here, but your comment moved me and adds a lot to what I wrote and what others have offered in this discussion of writing and pain.

      Thanks again!

      ~Sandy

  9. 12 leptitox Independent Review February 22, 2020 at 5:56 am

    It’s really vety diffficult in thiss active life
    tto listen news on Television, thus I just use internet for
    that reason, and obtain the most recent news.


  1. 1 Incurable Disease of Writing Trackback on June 26, 2010 at 10:14 am
  2. 2 7 Creative Links—The Problogger Challenge « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 22, 2010 at 6:04 am
  3. 3 bitcoin kurs euro Trackback on August 19, 2018 at 12:02 am
  4. 4 automated email marketing services Trackback on September 16, 2018 at 1:01 am
  5. 5 preparing Trackback on September 25, 2018 at 4:27 am
  6. 6 email marketing tips 2017 Trackback on October 4, 2018 at 2:46 pm
  7. 7 email marketing tools like cvent Trackback on October 27, 2018 at 7:22 pm
  8. 8 business acquisitions and merger Trackback on November 1, 2018 at 3:30 am
  9. 9 business mistake Trackback on November 1, 2018 at 7:12 pm
  10. 10 building the internet of things by maciej kranz Trackback on November 21, 2018 at 11:14 am
  11. 11 education quotes teachers Trackback on December 26, 2018 at 11:59 pm
  12. 12 Need to Sell House Waxhaw Trackback on February 17, 2019 at 11:40 am
  13. 13 dermatologist Montreal Trackback on March 19, 2019 at 7:44 pm
  14. 14 Http://69Judiqiu.online/ Trackback on March 27, 2019 at 8:31 pm
  15. 15 apartment renting texas hill country Trackback on June 28, 2019 at 7:56 pm
  16. 16 lorann oils for e Liquid Trackback on July 11, 2019 at 10:36 pm
  17. 17 Divorce Process In Pa Trackback on July 13, 2019 at 6:15 am
  18. 18 Alumni.Uprima.Ac.Id Trackback on July 18, 2019 at 10:11 am
  19. 19 Spider Vein Marketing Trackback on July 23, 2019 at 3:12 pm
  20. 20 Tamataro11.exblog.jp Trackback on August 18, 2019 at 11:19 pm
  21. 21 72 inch ceiling fan Trackback on August 30, 2019 at 5:46 pm
  22. 22 white ralph lauren men coats Trackback on October 10, 2019 at 4:46 am
  23. 23 Call Girls Trackback on October 11, 2019 at 9:03 pm
  24. 24 Tips Everyone Trackback on October 16, 2019 at 10:59 pm
  25. 25 visit the site Trackback on October 18, 2019 at 10:28 pm
  26. 26 theme Party Trackback on October 24, 2019 at 2:05 am
  27. 27 meditation music Sleep Trackback on November 24, 2019 at 5:37 am
  28. 28 Handy Home Trackback on December 4, 2019 at 2:32 pm
  29. 29 spray Paint Trackback on January 8, 2020 at 12:55 am
  30. 30 dari % url_domain% Trackback on January 11, 2020 at 2:10 pm
  31. 31 dadu online Trackback on January 17, 2020 at 4:37 am
  32. 32 situs judi dadu online Trackback on January 19, 2020 at 3:37 pm
  33. 33 judi tembak ikan Trackback on January 20, 2020 at 4:38 am
  34. 34 Home Decor Trackback on February 1, 2020 at 6:42 pm
  35. 35 We Buy Houses Charlotte Trackback on February 2, 2020 at 5:47 am
  36. 36 Noreendorsey7203.wikidot.com Trackback on February 2, 2020 at 11:44 am
  37. 37 Painted Paint Trackback on February 3, 2020 at 9:37 pm
  38. 38 read this post from Dusty23i848266.wikidot.com Trackback on February 7, 2020 at 9:57 am
  39. 39 cctv Camera installation Video Trackback on February 18, 2020 at 6:12 am
  40. 40 Catherinedenny30.wikidot.com Trackback on February 20, 2020 at 10:21 am
  41. 41 Mecklenburg County Wallpaper Installation Trackback on February 23, 2020 at 7:56 pm
  42. 42 buy keyboards Trackback on February 27, 2020 at 8:56 am
  43. 43 meljfk645981.Wikidot.Com Trackback on February 28, 2020 at 9:21 am
  44. 44 house ready Trackback on February 28, 2020 at 11:58 pm
  45. 45 Benefit Of Marijuana Trackback on March 2, 2020 at 10:27 am
  46. 46 buy Musical instruments Trackback on March 3, 2020 at 6:30 am
  47. 47 medical Cannabis Trackback on March 3, 2020 at 7:02 am
  48. 48 Floor Epoxy Tips Trackback on March 6, 2020 at 2:22 am
  49. 49 Microwave Devices Trackback on March 10, 2020 at 10:09 pm
  50. 50 Old Kitchen Cabinet Trackback on March 11, 2020 at 11:41 pm
  51. 51 Rg6 coaxial cable Connectors Trackback on March 15, 2020 at 10:48 pm
  52. 52 Paint Kitchen Trackback on March 20, 2020 at 7:32 pm
  53. 53 house Painter Trackback on March 25, 2020 at 12:44 am
  54. 54 http://petrauax84797.wikidot.com/blog:15 Trackback on April 6, 2020 at 5:36 am
  55. 55 Painting Company Trackback on April 10, 2020 at 9:03 am
  56. 56 Need To Sell House Huntersville Trackback on April 10, 2020 at 11:07 am
  57. 57 D&P Parfum Lijst Codes Dames Trackback on April 19, 2020 at 4:23 pm
  58. 58 Xhamster Deepthroat Trackback on April 21, 2020 at 8:18 am
  59. 59 Internet Phone Trackback on April 27, 2020 at 7:27 pm
  60. 60 http://petrauax84797.wikidot.com/blog:26 Trackback on May 12, 2020 at 1:04 am
  61. 61 http://Poisson-Fr.net/Plog/index.php?level=Picture&id=17 Trackback on June 30, 2020 at 10:11 am
  62. 62 fx게임 Trackback on June 30, 2020 at 10:56 am
  63. 63 Pod Juice Blue Raspberry Trackback on April 4, 2021 at 3:34 am
  64. 64 Dogs Cats Trackback on June 29, 2021 at 2:50 am

Leave a comment




Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape