Getting Micro-Creative, Part 2

I’m still thinking about 6-word stories, which I discussed in my last post. I found this amusing video of author Daniel Handler (aka Lemony Snicket) giving a reading for Six-Word Memoirs on Love & Heartbreak. He talks about being asked to come up with a 6-word story to describe every one of his romantic relationships just an hour before a radio interview. Handler rose to the challenge, and shares his quickly composed stories here:

I love how his tiny stories form a larger picture of his relationship history. And it got me thinking about creating numerous groups of 6-word memoirs on specific topics. I can imagine a small book filled with these, each chapter giving a concise remembrance of a part of the author’s life.

These little morsels pack a punch, because they include a lot of information in a condensed package (an entire relationship in six words). I think this could be a fun creative exercise. Easy, even, if done in tiny bites. So I’m planning to make this an occasional project for myself, something I work on when I need a little “no pressure” creative moment.

Here are the mini-memoir topics I’ve come up with for my project so far. Feel free to use them if they inspire you:

lake-and-red-boat

  • Stories people/family members tell about your childhood.
  • Childhood triumphs.
  • Childhood challenges.
  • Each family member.
  • Every pet.
  • Every place you’ve lived—house, apartment, town, city, country.
  • Every significant romantic relationship.
  • Every significant friend.
  • Every significant enemy.
  • Moments of growth.
  • Failures.
  • Successes.
  • Every job—paid or unpaid.
  • Who you wanted to be but turned out not to be.
  • Unexpected twists and turns in life.
  • Holiday memories.
  • Meaningful keepsakes/objects you’ve owned.

dandelion

  • Every car owned and where it’s taken you.
  • Vacations.
  • People you miss.
  • People who influenced you—in both good ways and bad.
  • People you’ve influenced—in both good ways and bad.
  • Teachers, good and bad.
  • Betrayals.
  • Joyful moments.
  • How other people see you.
  • Hidden moments of your life.

I’m sure the list could go on and on. I’d love to hear any other ideas.

Copyright @ Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

9 Responses to “Getting Micro-Creative, Part 2”


  1. 1 Rochelle Ritchie Spencer June 12, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Darn – I wish I had read your post before I met my friend at a cafe for some “creative” time. I just stared at a blank page and scribbled. Another good idea Sandy!

  2. 2 stranglingmymuse June 13, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Thanks, Rochelle!
    –Sandy

  3. 3 eatlivetravelwrite June 15, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    I love it Sandy – lots of inspiration there!

  4. 4 stranglingmymuse June 15, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Thanks!


  1. 1 Keep Your Writing Mojo Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 6:15 am
  2. 2 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:01 pm
  3. 3 Keep Your Writing Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 22, 2011 at 9:37 pm
  4. 4 Some Fuel for Your Creativity Tank | Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 3, 2013 at 6:04 am
  5. 5 Keep Your Writing Flowing | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 21, 2013 at 6:03 am

Leave a comment




Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape