Write. Rinse. Repeat.

Sometimes when life overwhelms me, I’ve just gotta drag my Muse into the shower to sneak in a creative moment.  I’ve crafted some of my best paragraphs while showering, repeating them over and over in my head as I rinse off.  Then dashing, dripping wet, to the closest piece of paper I can find and recording my words before I forget them.

I’ve also forced my Muse to tag along on my morning commute in the past.  One sultry morning years ago, I began writing in my head while jammed up against dozens of commuters.  My bangs started melting into my eyes from the humidity of the combined body heat in the subway car. I used my realization that I desperately needed a haircut to come up with a metaphor for this micro-story titled “Denial”.

bangs

A British publication paid me ₤10 for those two sentences!  Though I’m not always sure if that payment provided adequate compensation for the pitying looks I’ve gotten on occasion from people who read the tiny story.  It is fiction, really.

I’ve been thinking about these captured moments of creativity, and I decided to come up with a list.  Tiny bits of time we overworked, stressed-out writers (that’s all of us, right?!) could used to craft a few sentences in our heads.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  • In the shower
  • While driving or riding a bus/subway/taxi
  • While washing/clearing dishes
  • While vacuuming or dusting
  • While folding laundry
  • During commercials (30-second creative bursts!)
  • While blowdrying your hair
  • While walking the dog
  • While grooming the dog/cat
  • While grooming yourself
  • While tweezing (this one depends on how much unwanted hair you have!)

If anyone has other ideas or has found unique moments in your life when you can write a sentence or two, please share them in the comments!

Copyright @ Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

9 Responses to “Write. Rinse. Repeat.”


  1. 1 carrie June 5, 2009 at 10:22 am

    First, if I started writing in my head while tweezing, very bad things would happen to my brows. But we’re in sync these days: we both ‘write’ in the shower, and I was going to make a sidebar with my favorite writing exercise, which is to write the first sentence of a story, but to make sure to start in the middle of the action. Your 2 sentence story is perfect.

  2. 2 Mollie Hart June 5, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Mine are when I’m walking! Sometimes exercising, sometime just to and from errands…

  3. 3 Rochelle Ritchie Spencer June 5, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Yeah, don’t even get me started on the tweezing. I also liked “Denial” it packed a lot of punch in just two sentences – amazing.

    I sometimes “find” good ideas in that hazy, spacey, hour of the morning when I wake up, but don’t yet have to get up. When my inner critic, Eunice, is not yet awake.

    • 4 stranglingmymuse June 6, 2009 at 3:19 pm

      Carrie, I like your favorite writing exercise–it’s perfect for those little found creative moments. Speaking of writing in the shower, I recently heard someone talking about using old-fashioned grease pencils to write on shower walls!

      Mollie, I can’t believe I left “while taking a walk” off the list–I write in my head while walking all the time! But I usually carry some form of paper and pen with me, and sometimes even stop and sit on a bench or wherever I can and start writing more. Thanks for reminding me that belongs on the list!

      Rochelle, I also love first-thing-in-the-morning writing. It’s a great time to capture whatever’s bubbling up from the subconscious, creative self! I can picture Eunice, with her pinched-up face and shrill voice. I’m glad she likes to sleep in late!

      –Sandy


  1. 1 Write Naked!! « Strangling My Muse Trackback on June 8, 2009 at 7:22 am
  2. 2 Getting Micro-Creative « Strangling My Muse Trackback on April 25, 2010 at 1:39 pm
  3. 3 Write Naked « Strangling My Muse Trackback on June 6, 2010 at 5:03 am
  4. 4 Get Micro-Creative « Strangling My Muse Trackback on June 13, 2010 at 6:04 am
  5. 5 Write Naked | Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 1, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Leave a comment




Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape