Armed and Dangerous

Still riffing on yesterday’s challenge to turn a creative block into a character:

The minute she walked into my office I knew she was trouble. She had a pair of To Do lists that just wouldn’t quit. Longfemme fatale and persuasive like I like them. She leaned against the wall and pulled a tapered black pen out of her clutch.

I acted surprised, but she could tell I was expecting her. Ms. Always-Too-Busy was no stranger to me. She had obstruction written all over her, written as clearly as the words she was adding to the bottom of the second list: “Groceries. Vacuum. Pay bills. Work!”

I knew I should walk away, but there was something about this dame that always made me stay. I’d stay until she seduced me into crossing every item off her lists. I’d stay until my Muse stormed away, pouting. I’d stay until she left me spent and lying in a pool of my own neglected words.

Like I said, the dame was trouble. Trouble with a never-ending To Do List.

Copyright © Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

18 Responses to “Armed and Dangerous”


  1. 1 Kathy September 11, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Love it!!! I want to read the whole book. I want to see it as a movie. 🙂

  2. 3 Miss Demure Restraint September 12, 2009 at 8:42 am

    You have a wonderful gift and endearing style. I just love this piece and place.

    Be back, a sink of dirty dishes is calling me.

    Miss D

  3. 4 slacker-chick September 12, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Wow – you are amazing – I felt like “too busy” was a real character – and I too am looking forward to the movie! ;->

  4. 5 stranglingmymuse September 12, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Well thanks, Miss D — feel free to come back and pull up a chair any time. And don’t let those dishes get the best of you!

    And thank you too, Rochelle. You never slack on the supportive compliments!

    –Sandy

  5. 6 slacker-chick September 21, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Thanks again Sandy – you inspired me to write, “To Have and Have No Mo-jo” on my site. ;->


  1. 1 10 Ways to Stay Creative During the Busy Holiday Season « Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm
  2. 2 Keep Your Writing Mojo Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 6:14 am
  3. 3 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm
  4. 4 7 Creative Links—The Problogger Challenge « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 22, 2010 at 6:03 am
  5. 5 Creativity Freebies for May « Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 1, 2011 at 7:06 am
  6. 6 Warm Up Your Muse with Some Creative Foreplay « Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 4, 2011 at 12:41 pm
  7. 7 Keep Your Writing Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm
  8. 8 10 Ways for Writers to Stay Creative During the Busy Holiday Season « Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm
  9. 9 Some Fuel for Your Creativity Tank | Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 3, 2013 at 6:04 am
  10. 10 10 Ways for Writers to Stay Creative During the Busy Holiday Season | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 19, 2013 at 2:22 pm
  11. 11 Keep Your Writing Flowing | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 21, 2013 at 6:03 am

Leave a comment




Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape