Do Something New to Inspire Your Muse

Today I’m sharing my first ever effort at visual journaling, a new creative project I just started:


I’ve been writing and journaling forever, and I’ve done various art projects sporadically over the years. Now I’m so excited to try out something new!

I love how visual journaling combines writing and art. My Muse was jumping up and down beside me and creating quite a ruckus while I tried a new (to me) painting technique for the background!

Have you done anything creatively new lately?

Or do you feel excited about pursuing creativity in a different area you haven’t tried yet?

I’d love to hear about your new creative experiences in the comments. Or about anything else in your life that’s adding extra creative sparks these days!

Copyright © Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

11 Responses to “Do Something New to Inspire Your Muse”


  1. 1 K a b l o o e y February 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I HATE it when that happens. But very cool work, and I really like the backgrounds. (also the frontgrounds) ((and yeah, I know they’re foregrounds, but frontgrounds seems like a better opposite.) How great that you’re getting your muse so excited. And think of the cardio benefits — got to keep our muses aerobically fit.

    • 2 stranglingmymuse February 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      Thanks, Kablooey! And I like “frontgrounds” — I agree it’s a better opposite to “backgrounds.”

      You made me laugh with an image of a muse aerobics class. In my vision, all the muses are running around doing interesting things and paying no attention whatsoever to the teacher.

      ~Sandy

  2. 3 mary February 2, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    I’m a writer, a graphic designer, collage mixed media “artist.” I started taking a ceramics class back in August ’10. I’d always wanted to just get my hands around something without an instrument. I don’t feel that I would pursue this as my path, but it certainly is opening me up to discovery. I love molding as opposed to throwing on the wheel, although just for the sake of it, I want to get better at the wheel. I made several mugs, a few bowls, an owl, a rattle and a mask. I’d say I’ve inspired my muse.

    • 4 stranglingmymuse February 3, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      That’s great, mary! I love the way trying a different form of creativity can be a new journey of discovery…even when you’ve already pursued numerous other creative paths.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your experience. And good luck with all your creative pursuits!

      ~Sandy

  3. 5 gjergj shoshi June 24, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    I was a printmaker but now I am a artist painter but I would like to say that always I liked doing short films in black and white .recently I have some metaphysical paintings for architects of the tradition.If you have somebody to use my
    paintings in reality I will be very pleaced to be realised.
    do you agree ?!

    • 6 stranglingmymuse June 29, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      Gjergj, I don’t deal in art sales, but I’m very happy you’re pursuing your creative passions! Best of luck in all your endeavors.

      ~Sandy

  4. 7 gjergj shoshi December 20, 2011 at 4:07 am

    as m’rruhet e as m’qethet se c’ka mendon zotrrote!

  5. 9 gjergj shoshi December 20, 2011 at 11:17 am

    don’t has any meaning in english but is more or less:
    So Far,So Good…..,So What!
    To be honest with you I don’t have any inspiring muse from this page!

    • 10 stranglingmymuse December 21, 2011 at 11:17 am

      Thanks for the explanation — it’s always interesting to learn about sayings from other countries!

      Good luck with finding your inspiration!

      ~Sandy

  6. 11 gjergj shoshi February 19, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    do you keep the book “men without women” of ernest hemingway ?!


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

