Spend Your Creative Energy Wisely

Many things have been draining my energy this week. I think Julia Cameron can express what I want to say better than I can at the moment:

All actions require creative energy. As artists, we must learn to think of our energy the way a person thinks about money—am I spending my energy wisely here, investing in this person, this situation, this use of my time?

As a rule, artists are temperamentally generous, even spendthrift. This natural inclination must be consciously monitored. An artist must return enough to the inner well to feel a sense of well-being.

From The Artist’s Way Every Day: A Year of Creative Living

6 Responses to “Spend Your Creative Energy Wisely”


  1. 1 amkuska August 27, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I wrote a post not too long ago about this entitled, “How strong is your Creative Muscle” or some such similar thing. I think of it like I think of working out. Too much and you’re sore, too little and you’re flabby!

  2. 2 K a b l o o e y August 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Smart, smart Julie Cameron. Sometimes she gets a little granola-y for me, but she knows what she’s talking about. Hope your energy gets more consciously monitored in the near future. And hope everything’s OK.

  3. 3 stranglingmymuse August 27, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    amkuska, that’s a great metaphor!

    Kablooey, I agree about Julia Cameron. Everything’s okay, just big and small life events this week leaving me stressed and sad…

    ~Sandy

  4. 4 Susan @ 2KoP August 27, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    I’m a creative energy spendthrift, tossing it around like I have a limitless supply. It’s a bad habit. I tried to address it in this post, called the Power of No. Don’t think I’ve learned my lesson, though.

    • 5 stranglingmymuse August 27, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      Great post, Susan. I like the way you link saying No as a mom with saying No as an adult in various situations! It’s definitely a tough lesson to learn…

      ~Sandy

  5. 6 gjergj shoshi May 25, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    in a oriental state like ours (albania) .creative energy is limited because of mentality and because there is no state.
    there is no green space,oxigen and a lot of fields are covered from unnecessary buildings with no roofs and the man is to small to change the reality. I can say that this state don’t work since 1974 !private property ?!


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

