Shape Your Week Creatively

I admit it. I’m a huge list maker. I like organizing. And once I’ve written something down, I can banish it from stalking through my mind, putting up traffic cones as creative thoughts try to flower and mate and turn into something whimsical or weird or beautiful.

But I sometimes find myself stressed out and overwhelmed by my lists. I tend to be a bit unrealistic about how much I can get done in a day. And I often forget to leave escape hatches for my muse when I write straightforward To Do lists.

So I like to experiment with different ways to manage my time. I generally hit on alternatives to To Do lists that work well for me for a while. But I’ve realized I won’t find one method that works for the rest of my life. Because as I evolve, I need to let my time management methods evolve as well.

Lately I’ve been using what I’ll call the cloud method, and it’s working well for me these days. So I thought I’d share it here.

The cloud page above illustrates a typical week. I create one of these every Sunday night or Monday morning, capturing my most important things for the upcoming week. I make a point of leaving off anything that doesn’t have to be done this week and keeping my descriptions simple. I leave blank space to fill in extra items that come up.

The two clouds at the top cover things I’ve committed to doing every day. The green Daily cloud reminds me of self-nurturing things I must do, while the purple Creativity cloud contains anything creative that’s striking my fancy this week. I probably won’t do all of these creative items, and I may add others as the week goes on.

The orange square in the middle covers my most urgent work for the week—things that must be done. This includes my freelance writing work as well as chores (paying bills, cleaning, etc.).

I pencil in e-mails, phone calls and social networking connections I need to make in the heart at the left, erasing them when I’m done to make room for new things that come up. My other clouds remind me of errands and dates, and there are always a few items that don’t fit neatly into a cloud that I list at the bottom.

This cloud page continues to evolve throughout the week, and by Sunday, I’ve added extra items in most of the clouds and in some of the surrounding areas.

What I love about this method for now is that it reminds me of my most important goals—those contained in the top two clouds, while keeping my urgent work and other commitments clearly in focus. I look at it each morning and tweak it to fit the week as it’s shaping up.

And, because I can’t quite get rid of all the longer-term To Do items that pile up in my mind, I do keep a long list that I look at each week when I create my cloud page. I enter any priority items into a cloud, then forget about the rest of the list until the next week.

I hope sharing my cloud page helps anyone struggling with unwieldy To Do lists or other organizational methods that may be hampering your creativity. I’d love to hear how you organize your days and weeks, and how you keep your creative goals in the mix when other items sometimes yell much louder…

Copyright © Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

4 Responses to “Shape Your Week Creatively”


  1. 1 K a b l o o e y August 2, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    This looks really cool. I’m too frazzled right now to try it, but I hope to revisit soon. Thanks for always finding new ways to be creative. Even your to-do lists are inventive, Sandy. That’s impressive!

    • 2 stranglingmymuse August 3, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      Thanks for the compliment, Kablooey! You are very generous with those, you know, which is a wonderful gift.

      I hope this cloud method helps you out. And get some rest to de-frazzle yourself!

      ~Sandy

  2. 3 Danielle Quintanar August 12, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    This is great Sandy…I love it! I too am a HUGE list person. Then I have to make lists for my lists and making a NEW list then gets put on my to do list. I have an easle in the garage with a white board and a whollatta markers….will try this 🙂
    Fellow list maker and Creativity Student,
    Danielle

    • 4 stranglingmymuse August 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      Danielle, I laughed out loud when you said you make lists for your lists and then put making a new list on your to do list — I can definitely relate to that!

      Something I didn’t mention in the post, but probably should have, is that the first two items in my orange “Work” square make up a full-time job (deadline-intensive freelance writing). So if I was making a normal to do list, they would dominate and all the important things like creativity and self-care would be scrunched up underneath. This cloud page allows me to see what’s really important to me, while still keeping my money-earning work right in the center of the page.

      I hope this method works for you — or mess around with it and figure out something better! (And tell me about it!)

      ~Sandy


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

