Just Don’t Do It

I found this fantastic “To Don’t” pad at a bookstore yesterday, and I think it shares a wonderful lesson through humor. I’ve filled in some items I plan to avoid in the next 24 hours. What can you put on your To Don’t List today?

Copyright © Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

8 Responses to “Just Don’t Do It”


  1. 1 Jenine July 2, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    What NOT to do today:

    I will not listen to negative comments in my head
    I will not say I wish, I want, I need…..]
    Because… those changes are done if I say they are, if I believe they are. I will live as if I have what I want, what I wish, what I need. I will live life knowing that it is already engaged in the process of becoming and my thoughts are consistently positive.

    What Not to do Today:

    Complain.

    Oh and one other:

    I will NOT clean the kitty litter box.

  2. 2 K a b l o o e y July 3, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    TO DON’T:

    Stay up late reading the NY Times or a book in bed, so late in fact that I’m exhausted and draggy all day tomorrow. Or have to nap tomorrow, thus wasting more time.

    Engage in repeated verbal skirmishes with my five year old when my rational brain tells me not to engage. That’ll waste some energy I could use to create!

    Don’t pack up the room we’re redecorating in a quick, orderly way. Instead, get over-involved with the contents of old files, magazines, books, tchotchkes, etc. Rearrange things and move piles around, making more of a mess.

  3. 3 stranglingmymuse July 5, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    These are great lists, Jenine and Kablooey! I hope you were able to stick to them. And even if you didn’t, it helps to write your “don’ts” down, doesn’t it? I think I’m going to pull out my To Don’t pad and use it frequently. Thanks for sharing, both of you!

    And Kablooey, I hope you saw Jenine’s compliment on one of your haikus: https://stranglingmymuse.wordpress.com/readers-sandbox/wax-poetic/#comment-1119

    ~Sandy

  4. 4 K a b l o o e y July 6, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Now I did. How cool of you to connect me with Jenine’s sweet comment. And yes, I certainly did tackle my To Don’t list with verve. Stayed up finishing a book and then had to nap. (When I do this, it’s like I’m not aware of there being a tomorrow. I remember my mother finding me one morning at like 6:30, still reading a gigantic book from the night before — Isaac Asimov’s autobiography, I think.)

    • 5 stranglingmymuse July 9, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      Did you ever see the Seinfeld episode when Jerry talks about how “morning Jerry” gets mad at “night Jerry” for infractions like staying up late and making “morning Jerry” miserable? That gets discussed a lot in my home when our night time selves are staying up unreasonably late…in other words, I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about!

      Now, get some sleep!

      ~Sandy

  5. 6 trish lewis July 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I need one of those pads…!

  6. 7 brooklynchick July 18, 2010 at 9:13 am

    OMG! I want to buy this! What a great idea.

    To Don’t:

    Call relatives I don’t like but feel obligated to talk to.
    Ditto “friends” I don’t really like.
    Clean apartment (hiring someone finally)
    Work on a Sunday

  7. 8 stranglingmymuse July 18, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Thanks for your comments, Trish and brooklynchick — I love my To Don’t pad! And that’s a great list, brooklynchick. Thanks for sharing it.

    ~Sandy


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

