Creativity Roundup #4

Once again, I’d like to share some inspiring posts about creativity, writing and life I’ve read lately:

Time Lost and Found. The terrific Anne Lamott advises turning off technology and not cleaning the house to find time to write: “What fills us is real, sweet, dopey, funny life.”

Divine Inspiration: Bring Forth Your Muse in 3 Easy Steps. Susan Murphy offers advice for summoning creative inspiration. (at Thought Wrestling)

You Are Officially Entitled. Why be the PR person when you can be Director of Public Elations? Or Princess of Possibility? (from Mitch Ditkoff at The Heart of Innovation)

A Short Story About Ladders and Boxes and Possibility. Wonderfully inspiring post about creating and experiencing life on our own terms. (from Cath Duncan at Agile Living)

I hope you enjoy these articles as much as I did!

6 Responses to “Creativity Roundup #4”


  1. 1 Mark Dykeman April 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks for linking out to Thoughtwrestling, Sandy!

  2. 3 K a b l o o e y April 29, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I just read the Anne Lamott article (nice coincidence, since I just bought her new novel today). I wholeheartedly agree with her, but spin my wheels a lot and don’t write, as you know. I do do a lot (she said “do-do” hehhehheh) of the other stuff she mentions — like go to museums, take time by myself, be a (mostly) mindful parent, etc. And I am certainly not guilty of cleaning too much. But I can’t count the blog as part of the business because it does make me feel like I’m living a more creative life. So that’s a conundrum, I guess. Because blog time begets more blog time reading, corresponding. It’s not a 2 hour date with a friend at the coffee shop critiquing each other’s work, but it is satisfying, for now.

    • 4 stranglingmymuse April 29, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      I agree with you, and I experience the same creative fulfillment from writing this blog. It takes time away from other things I might write, but it’s a consistent source of inspiration for me. I also find that a certain amount of time spent reading other blogs, connecting with other blog writers, and participating on social networks enhances the creative experience surrounding this blog. And leads me to great resources and articles like the ones in this roundup, all of which I heard about on Twitter. I just have to be smart about limiting my time on these activities. My punishment when I fail at this is finding myself up at midnight doing my paying work so I won’t miss my deadlines! (And that’s actually a pretty good deterrent…most of the time.)

      ~Sandy

  3. 5 Poppy January 21, 2013 at 6:53 am

    Good. advice. Would you mind me asking where you got the image of the cave painting from? I’d like to know more about it.

    Poppy


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2016 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

