Who Can Resist a Pile of Wrinkly Puppies?

Shar Pei puppies

The single most common search phrase that brings people here is—believe it or not—”shar pei puppies.” So I’m re-posting the photo that appears elsewhere on this blog and clearly brings in some non-writer traffic.

While we’re looking at the adorable little guys, why not use the photo as a writing prompt? I’d love to read any creative bursts inspired by the puppy pile.


STOP STRANGLING YOUR MUSE!
I’ll help you slay your Perfectionism Dragon,
Herd your Inner Critics into a soundproof room,
Send your Procrastination Monster whimpering back to his cave,
And defuse all your creative blocks.

To schedule a free 30-minute telephone creativity coaching session with me, or for more information, click here.

14 Responses to “Who Can Resist a Pile of Wrinkly Puppies?”


  1. 1 K a b l o o e y October 29, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    When I was a kid we used to call them fried chicken dogs because of the wrinkly brown skin.

  2. 2 Heather Conroy October 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Not me Sandy. I want to pick them all up and wake them all up. I do feel sorry for the one at the bottom of the pile. He is going to need a bit more straightening out. Ah puppies! one word that always makes me smile.

  3. 3 stranglingmymuse October 30, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Hilarious, Kablooey! Kids are naturals at metaphors, aren’t they?

    Heather, your mention of “straightening out” the bottom puppy gave me a mental image of ironing out the wrinkles!

    –Sandy

  4. 4 slacker-chick October 30, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Why do I keep thinking of botox? ;->

  5. 6 Carolyn Brandt Broughton October 31, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks for visiting ‘Doing Work You Love’. I’m loving hanging out in Strangling My Muse-land. I look forward to receiving your posts on a regular basis! (Thanks Susan at Two Kinds of People!)

    Those puppies are darling and elegant at the same time. They do my heart good.

    – Carolyn Brandt Broughton

    • 7 stranglingmymuse November 1, 2009 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Carolyn, and I’m glad you’re enjoying what you find here! I also find those puppies very heartwarming!
      –Sandy

  6. 8 Susan @ 2KoP December 18, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    A Shar Pei Morning

    “Good lord, look at these wrinkles,” she said to the mirror, alternately squinting at her reflection and opening her eyes as wide as she could. “I look like a freaking shar pei.”

    “Those puppies tend to lose their wrinkles as the age,” Dan called from the bedroom. “That must mean you’re getting younger.”

    “Why do you know that?” she said, still mugging the mirror. His never ending supply of trivia could be really annoying this early in the morning.

    “Happy birthday,” he said, peeking around the corner.

    “Don’t rush it,” she said, gently pushing his forehead back out of the bathroom before shutting and locking the door. “I still have 17 more hours until my day of doom.”

    “Oh, that’s right, you’ll be 40 tomorrow,” he said in mock surprise. “Honey, you are getting old. I’m still only in my thirties and you’ll be 41 next year.”

    “Seven months,” she said. “I’m seven lousy months older than you and you make it sound like we’re decades apart. One should never marry a younger man … or be born in December.”

    “I love my July birthday,” he said. “Barbecues, beer and brats. I can’t wait.”

    “Easy for you to say. You have seven months and 18 days until you hit the big 4-0.”

    “I’m not worried. Women love middle-aged men.”

    “You need to stop talking now.”

    “Hey, you’re beautiful, ya know.”

    “My next husband is going to be older than me, even if it’s just by one day.”

    “What do you mean, your NEXT husband? What’s wrong with the one you’ve got?”

    “Him? He had to go. He was too young for me.”

  7. 12 Everette July 13, 2017 at 9:00 pm

    Opcao 1 – salada de folhas verdes ‘a vontade +
    3 col. http://himalayannatural.com/bbs/yybbs.cgi?list=thread


  1. 1 Keep Your Writing Mojo Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 6:14 am
  2. 2 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

