Sandbox Challenge #3: Write About Writing

Here’s the challenge:  Write a haiku about writing (or another form of creativity).

Remembering that a haiku has five syllables in the first line, seven syllables in the second line, and five syllables in the third line, write about:

  • a creative challenge
  • a creative triumph
  • something you’ve written
  • something you want to write
  • how you write
  • how you procrastinate
  • a character you’ve created
  • a plot you find interesting
  • anything else having to do with writing or creativity…

origami butterfly

Then post it in the Wax Poetic section of the Readers’ Sandbox.

Here’s my haiku:

writer’s block

characters arrived
fingers dance on my keyboard
now my mind is blank

16 Responses to “Sandbox Challenge #3: Write About Writing”


  1. 1 K a b l o o e y August 31, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    What I did yesterday instead of writing:

    Bought a blogging book
    because books let me postpone
    the actual work.

  2. 2 K a b l o o e y August 31, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I love the ellipsis…

    Now I’m catching up
    with my lovely bloggy friends,
    but still not posting…

  3. 3 K a b l o o e y August 31, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Because We had to Write an Original Poem or Composition for Mrs. Razar:

    I used to write haiku
    in the fourth grade every week.
    To get my check plus.

  4. 4 K a b l o o e y August 31, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Abusing, not amusing

    Sandy, make me stop
    Or I’ll do this all night long
    Abusing my muse

  5. 5 K a b l o o e y August 31, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Right?

    I can’t seem to stop
    but I have so much to do…
    then again, this counts

  6. 6 stranglingmymuse August 31, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks for the prolific pour-out of haiku! Your vacation must have left you inspired. I like all of these, and together they form a wonderful story of frantic procrastination. Except I don’t consider it procrastination, because you’re being creative, and that’s the goal of your blog.

    What’s the name of the blogging book?

    –Sandy

  7. 7 K a b l o o e y September 1, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I’m really embarrassed to tell you the awful title of this book, but at least you can’t see the magenta cover unless I link. (I’m also embarrassed that I had to stop and look up how to spell embarrassed, because 3 tries didn’t cut it). I wouldn’t buy the “Dummies’ Guide to…” blogging books, so I bought The It Girl’s Guide to Blogging with Moxie. The subtitle is: “Being a geek is oh-so-chic!”

    It’s all so horrible. But the book looks ok and I had a $10 off coupon. Book just mentioned that Margaret Cho has a blog, so I’m going to look her up. She cracks me up.

    • 8 stranglingmymuse September 2, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      Hey, I never judge a book by its magenta cover — or its title. Margaret Cho is very funny. I’d love to hear if the book has any helpful blogging tips.
      –Sandy

  8. 9 drowninmelancholy December 24, 2013 at 6:31 am

    Ooh I love Haikus. I have to write one again sometime. Maybe this will be one good excuse to do so 🙂


  1. 1 Keep Your Writing Mojo Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 6:14 am
  2. 2 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm
  3. 3 Keep Your Writing Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm
  4. 4 Some Fuel for Your Creativity Tank | Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 3, 2013 at 6:04 am
  5. 5 Keep Your Writing Flowing | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 21, 2013 at 6:03 am

Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

