Sandbox Challenge #2: Tell a Good Lie

Cheap knick knacks sell for higher prices on eBay when they come with interesting background stories—even if those stories are lies. That’s what the creators of the Significant Objects Project found. Wanting to understand how we imbue items with value, they asked writers to make up tales about random thrift store purchases. Although the eBay descriptions clearly state the histories are fictional, the objects still sell for significantly more than their original purchase prices.

fountain pen

I read about this fascinating project here, and it inspires today’s challenge:

Make up a false history about any item you can see right now. (Or any item you own, if you prefer.) Your description can be just one sentence, a paragraph, or more. It can be funny, touching, historical, mystical, whatever you want.

Post your faux-background stories in the Go Wild! section of the Reader’s Sandbox.

For inspiration, check out some of the wonderful stories of the Significant Objects Project here.

The purpose of this challenge is simple creative play. It’s meant to amuse your muse and get your creative juices flowing with a quick no-stress bit of writing.

fan

Here are a couple of mine:

My grandmother used to write to Franklin Roosevelt with this pen. She wrote letters to him weekly for a while, expressing her opinions on the events of the day. Gran received many responses from his office, which she kept in a thick leather binder. Unfortunately, in 1973, a fire destroyed the binder and all the letters. But my grandmother kept the pen, and always carried it in her purse. She died two decades after that fire, and left the pen to me in her will.

The fan next to my desk belonged to a local punk rocker named Mike Fester. He dated my friend Brenda for a while in the late 1980s. One night I was backstage at one of his shows, and he threw it at me, after making an insulting comment about his fans. When it hit my shin and broke the skin, Mike and Brenda laughed. I grabbed the fan and left. I never talked to either one of them again, but the fan still runs perfectly.

Copyright @ Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

7 Responses to “Sandbox Challenge #2: Tell a Good Lie”


  1. 1 IndiaInk August 21, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Thank you for commenting on my site. I have been in the middle of a huge renovation of both of my blogs and had not checked my comments yet. I love your site. It is so motivational. Love this prompt!


  1. 1 Keep Your Writing Mojo Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 6:14 am
  2. 2 Weekend Writing Flow « Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm
  3. 3 Keep Your Writing Flowing « Strangling My Muse Trackback on May 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm
  4. 4 Some Fuel for Your Creativity Tank | Strangling My Muse Trackback on July 3, 2013 at 6:04 am
  5. 5 Keep Your Writing Flowing | Strangling My Muse Trackback on December 21, 2013 at 6:03 am

Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2016 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

