Awards and Revelations

Rochelle at Slacker-Chick has generously bestowed two awards on this blog: The Best Blog and the Honest Scrap awards. Since the second one requires that I reveal 10 true things about myself before awarding it to 10 new people, I’m going to get that over with happily comply first. Then I’ll post the rules below.

cesky krumlov

10 TRUE THINGS ABOUT ME:

Because I write about creativity here, I’m going to focus my answers on that topic. Also, I doubt that no one knows these things about me, since A) I’m pretty open; and B) if there’s really anything no one knows about me, do you think I’m going to reveal it here?

  1. As a child, I desperately wanted my family to be the Partridge Family. Dorky, I know. But how wonderful would it be to grow up doing something creative with your entire family? And to solve all your problems in half an hour, then make everyone smile by singing to them?
  2. I’m cursed with a terrible singing voice. And a good ear. So there’s no fooling myself about that voice of mine. I could never be in the Partridge Family.
  3. I have, and have always had, a vivid fantasy life that’s every bit as real to me as my “real” life. It’s just a different kind of real. My two worlds come together in my fiction writing.
  4. Because I have a calm demeanor, many people who know me don’t realize I frequently become obsessed with random things. When something catches my fancy, I go at it like that cartoon skunk, Pepe le Pew. Bringing it flowers, kissing every inch of its arm, generally not letting it go until I’ve thoroughly examined it or become obsessed with something else. This can be a concept, an author, a book, a TV show…anything, really. But then I often later wind up writing about or otherwise being creatively influenced by these obsessed-over items.
  5. This obsessive trait extends to my writing. When I’m on a creative roll, I often forget to eat or sleep.
  6. misty morning

  7. I am about one quarter hermit. Sometimes I love to socialize and hang out in the world. Other times I want to sneak into my cave and go into “writer’s hibernation” for a while. This cave would be furnished with all the comforts of modern life, including plenty of books and movies, along with computer, paper and pen. In this scenario, my husband would slide food into my cave periodically so I wouldn’t starve.
  8. I’m a compulsive eavesdropper. 95% of what people say is boring, but the other 5% makes it worthwhile. I’ve acquired some really good dialogue this way.
  9. People fascinate me, in all their complexity. I’ve known geniuses who couldn’t express themselves, compassionate artists paralyzed by paranoia, sexists with very big hearts…I’m not sure I could ever write a character as interesting as a real person.
  10. I like to break rules, so I’m only going to write nine things about myself. By the way, I think maybe I could have been Tracy in the Partridge Family. She only lipsynched and waved the tambourine around vaguely. Besides, the actress who played her and I are the same age. She manages a shoe store in Reno now. Don’t ask how I know that. (Did I mention I sometimes become obsessed with random things?)

HERE ARE THE AWARD RULES:

blog_honest_award_thumb

THE HONEST SCRAP AWARD:

1. The Honest Scrap award must be shared!
2. First, the recipient must reveal 10 true things about themselves in their blog that no one else knows.
3. Second, the recipient must pass along this prestigious award to 10 more bloggers.
4. Third, those 10 bloggers must be notified they have been given this award.
5. Those 10 bloggers should link back to the blog that awarded them the Honest Scrap award.

bestblogaward_thumb_thumbTHE BEST BLOG AWARD:
Same rules, except no need for any self-revelation.

Since I’m so very new to this blog world, I’m sorry to say I can’t come up with 10 recipients. I’ve chosen blogs I love by writers I’ve connected with. So I’m starting by awarding the four blogs below both the Honest Scrap and Best Blog awards. I reserve the right to pass the awards to six additional deserving recipients in the future.

My chosen blogs in alphabetical order:

Creative Burst
Eat, Live, Travel, Write
Little Conversations
Two Kinds of People

Thanks for all your inspiring writing!

And thanks also to Slacker-Chick and Kablooey (who I would have included in my awarded blogs if Slacker-Chick hadn’t beaten me to it) for all your bloggy creativity, along with the wonderful contributions you continue to make in the discussions on this blog!

Copyright @ Sandy Ackers, Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World, http://www.stranglingmymuse.com

4 Responses to “Awards and Revelations”


  1. 1 slacker-chick July 31, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Sandy, I didn’t know how obsessive you were or that you are a Tracy Partridge wannabe! See these 10 True Things are eye-opening. I’m 1/2-hermit – I wonder if I could get my hubs to pass food to me while I’m in the Blogging Zone? Hmmm

    • 2 stranglingmymuse July 31, 2009 at 6:20 pm

      Ha! Actually, Laurie was much cooler than Tracy, but I don’t think I could have gotten that zoned-out hair-swaying-while-playing-the-keyboards motion down. That’s rhythm!
      –Sandy

  2. 3 k a b l o o e y July 31, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I’m 3/8ths hermit. And the Brady Bunch messed me up more than the Partridge Family. I remember trying out Marcia’s (Jan’s?) “if I can’t have it, then I never want anything from you ever again” on my parents. Unlike the Brady folks, mine said “great!”
    and that was that.

    What have been some of your past obsessions? Embarrasing ones are fine — we’re all adults here, and I’m just curious.

    • 4 stranglingmymuse August 2, 2009 at 1:43 pm

      I’d love to know how you made the 3/8 hermit calculation! A few past obsessions, off the top of my head, in no particular order: Zelda Fitzgerald, magical realism, Aidan Quinn, metaphysics, Hal Hartley movies, “Twin Peaks” TV series, Shakespeare…actually, far too many writers and actors to remember…method acting techniques and applying them to creating characters…hmmm…maybe I should write a blog post about that one…
      –Sandy


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2017 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

