Muse in Recovery

My Muse is currently recovering from a period of sad neglect…first post will arrive very soon…

4 Responses to “Muse in Recovery”


  1. 1 Beverly Jackson May 26, 2009 at 4:26 am

    Mary Oliver (in her book of essays on poetry) says you must treat your Muse like a relationship, that if you don’t keep dates with it, “it will appear fleetingly, or it will not appear at all. Why should it? It can wait. It can stay silent a lifetime. Who knows anyway what it is, that wild, silky part of ourselves without which no poem can live? But we do know this: if it is going to enter into a passionate relationship and speak what is in its own portion of your mind, the other responsible and purposeful part of you had better be a Romeo. It doesn’t matter if risk is somewhere close by–risk is always hovering somewhere. But it won’t involve itself with anything less than a perfect seriousness. For the would-be writer of poems, this is the first and most essential thing to understand. It comes before everything, even technique.”

    I don’t believe this speaks only to poets.

    • 2 stranglingmymuse May 27, 2009 at 12:15 am

      What a lovely quote, Beverly. Thanks for posting it. I love “that wild, silky part of ourselves” — those are words you just want to inhale and allow to flow through your body, aren’t they?

      You published a flash fiction piece of mine years ago. Thanks for the support, then and now!

      –Sandy

  2. 3 Wendy Nelson Tokunaga May 26, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Great blog topic and wonderful picture! I know what you mean that whether you have a 9-to-5 job or work from home that both present challenges in making time to write. I would suggest making a schedule for your home time and including writing time. Just scheduling thirty minutes a day will help. I think starting a blog can get the creative juices flowing, but it can also get in the way when trying to put in novel writing time. Not trying to discourage you (I think this blog has gotten off to a terrific start!), but just something to keep in mind. Better schedule blog time too. 🙂

    • 4 stranglingmymuse May 27, 2009 at 12:25 am

      Well, since I’m not really working on any of my incomplete fiction projects right now, I’m not too worried about this blog taking time away from them!

      Thanks for the supportive comments, Wendy! Your suggestion about scheduling time is a good one. I am the QUEEN of making lists and schedules, and I find that schedules sometimes work really well for my creative writing, but at other times they just don’t help me. Especially when I have lots of deadlines for my paying writing. It seems like sometimes I need to entice myself to do my soul-writing, rather than schedule myself…

      –Sandy


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2016 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

