Creativity Roundup

I’ve been reading some great posts about creativity this week, and I want to share some of my favorites.

Denny McCorkle tells you how to Enjoy a Creative Bounce with Simple Fun at I Geek for Creativity. He includes a list of 41 playful ideas you can try. Denny’s post also features the fantastic video from Box of Crayons that I’ve posted above. I think it wouldn’t hurt for us all to watch it every morning, just to remind us to embrace our wonderful creative selves!

Author Orna Ross provides a list of 7 Characteristics of the Creatively Intelligent.

Mark McGuinness discusses What Daily Meditation Can do for Your Creativity at 99%.

Manuela Boyle ponders whether writing copy for a day job helps or hampers your personal creative writing in Copywriters: ghosts of their writing selves? on Write for Your Life.

Alex Cornell asked 25 creative people for their tips on Overcoming Creative Block at ISO50.

Ken Robert at Mildly Creative talks about pursuing the things you’re drawn to even if you don’t understand why in It Doesn’t Have to Make Sense.

Hope you enjoy these posts as much as I did!

8 Responses to “Creativity Roundup”


  1. 1 K a b l o o e y February 26, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I absolutely loved the !SO50 compendium. I bookmarked it in my new writing/blogging folder and plan to spin back through it and follow links. I enjoyed a lot of the other articles, but this was my favorite. The McSweeneys prompts cracked me up, but none really made me want to pick up the pen, except maybe the “peeing in the tin bucket” one.

    • 3 stranglingmymuse February 26, 2010 at 3:33 pm

      Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed these! The one on overcoming creative block is really packed with a lot of ideas and links — I want to go back and spend more time on it too!
      Have a happy and creative weekend!
      –Sandy

  2. 4 Manuela Boyle February 28, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Hi Sandy from across the pond! Great writing blog you have and this round-up is real useful. Writing is a balance between inspiration and getting down to it, and you cover all that here! Your shout-out for Write for your Life and my post is much appreciated. I’ll stop by often.

    • 5 stranglingmymuse February 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      Hi Manuela — thanks for stopping by! Your post spoke to me, since I craft various types of copy for clients while working on my own creative writing projects. It’s always a struggle to find a good balance. I’m glad you like my blog, and hope to see you here again!
      –Sandy

  3. 6 dianejwright March 1, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Hi Sandy. Just wanted to let you know that Strangling My Muse was one of my selections for the SheWrites blog picks this week. Thanks for supporting writers!
    /djw

    Founder of THE STORY SPOT
    SheWrites Salonista

  4. 7 mrs mediocrity March 1, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Hahaha love your blog and its name! I will be visiting often…

  5. 8 stranglingmymuse March 1, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Diane — thanks for the fantastic review on She Writes!

    mrs mediocrity — thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you like my blog!

    ~Sandy


Leave a Reply

Download a Free E-Book! Click on the Cover Below for your Creative Bursts Workbook

And get fun 15-minute creativity prompts delivered to your inbox twice a week

About Sandy Ackers

Sandy

Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach and Writer.

To learn more about Sandy, click here: About Sandy

Connect With Me On Facebook:

Meet My Muse

Click here to read the post discussing my relationship with my somewhat pesky male muse.

Inspiration in your inbox:

Blog Archive

Total Hits:

wordpress analytics
wordpress analytics

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share
Add to Technorati Favorites
Writing Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Copyright © 2009-2014 Sandy Ackers. All rights reserved, with the following exceptions:

Writers retain all rights to any comments, stories or other original work posted on this blog in the comments sections or the Readers' Sandbox.

Many of the photos on this blog are in the public domain. If you'd like to reproduce a photo, contact Sandy Ackers at the email address listed in the ABOUT section of this blog for information on whether the image is under copyright.

Reproducing, copying or distributing the writing on this blog without the express permission of the author is strictly forbidden.

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

